Category: Croatia

Sibenik: 25 Things to Know about Croatia’s UNESCO Fortress City; Paul Bradbury; Total Croatia News

Croatia – The Cathedral of St James in Šibenik

Continuing our look at the jewels of Croatia tourism in TCN’s 25 Things to Know about Croatia series on January 10, 2018, one of the rising stars of the Adriatic coast – Sibenik.

1. UNESCO  World Heritage – The Cathedral of St James

Sibenik is often overlooked by tourists who head instead for better known Dalmatian cities such as Split and Dubrovnik, but just a very tiny look at what Sibenik has to offer shows that they are missing out. Big time! One of the great architectural wonders of the world, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site,  the Cathedral of St. James, dominates the front of Sibenik’s gorgeous old town. Just how did they built it entirely from stone? Learn more from the official UNESCO website.

2. UNESCO World Heritage – Fortress St Nicholas

Having a UNESCO World Heritage Site in your city is pretty cool.


Read more

Vrboska: 25 Things to Know about Little Venice; Paul Bradbury; Total Croatia News

Croatia – Stari Grad Plain

Continuing our popular series, 25 Things to Know about Croatia, on November 11, 2017, a visit to one of the most charming destinations of all – Vrboska on the island of Hvar.

1 The Fortress Church

There is no questioning the most impressive building in the quaint old town of Vrboska – the unique fortress church of St Mary of Mercy. Built in the 16th century following the devastating attack by the Turks under Uyuz Ali, who burned the village in 1571 along with much of Dalmatia, the church fortress was built as a result to protect the inhabitants of Vrboska, and to good effect. The church fortress is open to tourists these days, with latest opening times advertised on the door (or check with the tourist board across the harbour).

Read more


UNESCO World Heritage: Primeval Beech Forests – Northern Velebit and Paklenica National Parks; Filipa Marusic; Total Croatia News

Croatia – Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe

TCN’s Filipa Marušić gives us a closer look at just why these incredible parts of the country deserve much more attention than they get.

This transboundary extension of the Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians spreads over twelve European countries, including Croatia. This multi-country World Heritage Site in Croatia covers parts of the popular National Parks – Northen Velebit and Paklenica, both of which are located on Velebit.

The countries included are Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Ukraine. This extension of the World Heritage Site was inscribed on the 41st session of The World Heritage Committee in Krakow, Poland in July this year.