Angola, Eritrea and South Africa get certificates for new World Heritage sites; Ismail Akwei; Africanews

Angola – Mbanza Kongo, Vestiges of the Capital of the former Kingdom of Kongo

The United Nations cultural agency (UNESCO) has issued certificates for the recently inscribed world heritage sites in Angola, Eritrea and South Africa.

The historic sites of Mbanza Kongo in Angola, Eritrea’s capital Asmara and South Africa’s ǂKhomani Cultural Landscape were added to the UNESCO’s World Heritage List in July.

These are the first world heritage sites in Angola and Eritrea, but the ninth for South Africa which boasts of eight other sites.

The eight include the Fossil Hominid, Maloti-Drakensberg Park, Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape, Vredefort Dome, Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape, Robben Island Museum, iSimangaliso Wetland Park and the Cape Floral Region Protected Areas.

Read more

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.