Living Heritage: Inside SA’s 9 UNESCO World Heritage Sites; Traveller24

South Africa – Cape Floral Region Protected Areas

Cape Town – September in South Africa means a month-long celebration of South African Heritage, culminating on 24 September, our national Heritage Day.

Inline with this month-long awareness campaign around South Africa’s cultural and natural heritage, we’ve gone in search of the splendour of our official UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Do we really know the sites, and how to experience and appreciate them?

If you can’t say you do, here are our suggestions to revelling in South Africa’s incredible heritage.

Let’s start at the beginning with South Africa’s first official UNESCO’s sites. Although formed in 1978, the first three UNESCO World Heritage Sites for South Africa were only listed in 1999. These included the natural wonder of iSimangaliso Wetland Park, the culturally significant sites of Robben Island and the Fossil Hominid Sites of South Africa.

iSimangaliso Wetland Park

Read more

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.