Croatia’s eight UNESCO world heritage sites; The Dubrovnik Times

Croatia –Plitvice Lakes National Park

The latest list of the UNESCO’s world heritage includes 814 cultural, 203 natural, and 35 mixed monuments, and totals 1,052 protected cultural and natural monuments in 165 countries worldwide. Eight gems from Croatia also found their place on this prestigious list and are waiting for you to discover them.

Among the numerous world popular UNESCO’s sites such as Stonehenge, the Pyramids, and the Cathedral of Notre-Dame, there are the Plitvice Lakes National Park, the Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian, the Old City of Dubrovnik, the Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Porec, the Historic Town of Trogir, the Cathedral of Saint James in Sibenik, the Stari Grad Plainon the island of Hvar, and the Graveyards of the Medieval Tombstones (”stećci”) at Dubravka in the Konavle region and at Cista Velika near Imotski.

Read more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s