South Africa’s Unesco World Heritage Sites; Brand South Africa

South Africa – Maloti-Drakensberg Park

The oldest visible meteor crater on earth. The island prison that held Nelson Mandela. The remains of an ancient African city state. Evidence of the earliest humans, and the richest and most beautiful collection of cave paintings south of the Sahara. South Africa is home to eight Unesco World Heritage Sites.

Unesco, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, has identified these eight sites to be of “outstanding value to humanity”.

Four of South Africa’s World Heritage Sites are classified as cultural, three as natural, and one as a mixed cultural and natural site.

The three natural heritage sites are:

  • iSimangaliso Greater St Lucia Wetland Park
  • Cape Floral Region
  • Vredefort Dome

The four cultural sites are:

  • Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape
  • Robben Island
  • Cradle of Humankind
  • Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape

Read more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s