Ottawa opens nominations for Canada’s next set of UNESCO World Heritage Sites; Levon Sevunts; RCI

Canada – Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks

Do you think your neighbourhood or your favourite hiking trail has what it takes to be listed as a World Heritage Site?

Then you have until January 27, 2017 to nominate new places to be considered for inclusion on Canada’s list for inscription as World Heritage Sites – exceptional places around the world that are considered to have “outstanding universal value,” such as the Pyramids of Egypt and Australia’s Great Barrier Reef.

Canada already has 18 World Heritage Sites – eight cultural, including the historic district of Old Quebec, and 10 natural, such as the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks and Mistaken Point at the south-eastern tip of the island of Newfoundland.

Read more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s