The seven wonders: Kathmandu’s world heritage sites; Jo Lane; Travel Wire Asia

Nepal – Kathmandu Valley

KATHMANDU has seven monuments that are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage.

Not only are these monuments an incredible testimony to the craftsmanship and traditions of the Kathmandu Valley, they still represent the beating heart of life in the Valley.

Kathmandu Durbar Square

The palaces, temples and public spaces of this central part of Kathmandu are an incredible blend of living history. Dating back anywhere from the 15th to the 18th century, they are filled with incredible stone carvings, shrines, tourists and even souvenir sellers where you can haggle over Indian styled clothing or Tibetan jewelry. Find a spot to sit and watch locals visiting the temples, feeding the pigeons, filling their water pots or simply sitting around and chatting.

Patan Durbar Square

The Patan Durbar Square is the beating heart of Patan City and dates to the 3rd century A.D.

Read more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s